Neighborhood NewsPublic Interest

St. Paul’s historic City Council sworn in

On January 9, St. Paul’s next City Council was sworn in at a ceremony at the Ordway Center for the Performing Arts. 

With four new members, the council is going to look different in years past in more ways than one. In a historic election by St. Paul voters, for the first time in St. Paul, or any major U.S. city, our city council consists of all female members. What’s more, all seven members are under 40 years-old and six of the seven identify as people of color.

“Today we lift up history that St. Paul residents made with their votes,” said incoming Council President Mitra Jalali during her inaugural speech. “For the first time in U.S. history, an American city of our size has elected a city council of all women and a super majority of women of color.” 

The historic feat received a great deal of national attention, including stories in the New York Times and Washington Post and congratulatory tweets from former Secretary of State Hillary Clinton and Timberwolves star Karl-Anthony Towns.

The newly sworn in St. Paul City Council is Anika Bowie, Ward 1, Rebecca Noecker, Ward 2, Saura Jost, Ward 3, Mitra Jalali, Ward 4 and Council President, HwaJeong Kim, Ward 5, Nelsie Yang, Ward 6 and Cheniqua Johnson, Ward 7.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *